South Baldwin Jewish Center
 
  2959 Grand Avenue
Baldwin, NY 11510
Phone: 516-223-8688 | Fax: 516-223-8689
Email: sbjcoffice@optonline.net
 
 
       
Welcome to the
South Baldwin Jewish Center Website

We are having an evening discussion session tomorrow, Tuesday evening, August 30th at 7:30 pm

The topic is "Do You Identify as an American Jew or Jewish American?"

The discussion will be facilitated by congregants.

We hope you come to listen and participate.


Dear Member,

At this time of year we prepare for the high holidays by cleaning all of our talaisim. Until recently, we had a local cleaner do them gratis but they no longer do cleaning in house and can no longer offer us that service.

We are asking you if you have a dry cleaner that you use on a regular basis. If so, could you ask them if they might take a number of our talaisim and clean them as a service to you as a steady customer. Many will do this as a courtesy. We offer them a public "thank you" in a subsequent Centerpost that may be a spur to additional customers.

Please try if you can. It will save us a considerable amount of money.

We thank you in advance for your efforts.


We regret to announce the death of Robert Silberglied, beloved brother of our member, Joan Edwards.
The funeral will take place tomorrow in Spring Valley, NY.

Shiva will take place at the Edwards residence, 781 Allwyn Street, Baldwin as follows:
Saturday night, August 27th from 8:30-10:00PM
Sunday through Wednesday, August 28th through 31st from 1:00-4:00PM and
8:00-10:00PM

A shiva minyan is requested each evening at 8:00PM .


This is to remind you today, Tuesday, August 23rd, is Rosh Chodesh and Josh Reichman will be officiating at the morning service and reading the Torah.

The service begins at 7:30 pm and we invite everyone to attend as we usher in the month of AV and begin the nine days leading to Tisha B'av.


We are having an evening discussion session on Tuesday evening, August 30th at 7:30 pm (tentative time)

The topic is "Do You Identify as an American Jew or Jewish American?"

The discussion will be facilitated by congregants. All are welcome to come and participate.

A shiva minyan is requested each evening at 8 PM.


We want your articles for the first issue of the CENTERPOST of the new year. We require submission of any material by the week of August 22nd.


We have been able to secure a few copies of the new selection "Those Who Go Do Not Return" By Shulem Deen. 

They are available in the office on a first come, first serve basis.


We wish to announce that Josh Reichman will be presenting one evening class in the next couple months

The class will be held on Tuesday Evening, September  27, at 7:30pm in the library

We invite everyone to attend.


Mah Jongg meets on Thursdays at
6:45 p.m.


Folk dancing meets on Wednesdays at 10:30am. Newcomers are always welcome to either group.


How to Get Here

2959 Grand Avenue
Baldwin, NY 11510


We welcome the members of the Baldwin Jewish Center to your new home. May the memories of your past sustain you in our future.



Click here to print a form




Candle and Torah Lighting Readings

   
Shabbat, Torah Reading: Re'eh
Friday, September 2, 2016
Av 29, 5776
Light Candles at:
7:06 PM
Shabbat, Torah Reading: Ha'Azinu
Friday, October 14, 2016
Tishrei 12, 5777
Light Candles at:

5:57 PM
 
Shabbat, September 3, 2016
Av 30, 5776
Shabbat Ends:
8:04 PM

Saturday, October 15, 2016
Tishrei 13, 5777
Shabbat Ends:
6:54 PM


Shabbat, Torah Reading: Shoftim
Friday, September 9, 2016
Elul 6, 5776
Light Candles at
:
6:55 PM
Sukkot
Sunday, October 16, 2016
Eve of First day Sukkot
Tishrei 14, 5777
Light Holiday Candles at:

5:54 PM
   
Saturday, September 10, 2016
Elul 7, 5776
Shabbat Ends
:
7:52 PM
Monday, October 17, 2016
Eve of Second day Sukkot
Tishrei 15, 5777
Light Holiday Candles after
:
6:51 PM
   

Shabbat, Torah Reading: Ki Teitzei
Friday, September 16, 2016
Elul 13, 5776
Light Candles at:
6:43 PM

Tuesday, October 18, 2016
Tishrei 16, 5777
Holiday Ends:

6:50 PM

 
Saturday, September 17, 2016
Elul 14, 5776
Shabbat Ends:

7:40 PM
Shabbat, Intermediate Days of Sukkot
Friday, October 21, 2016
Tishrei 19, 5777
Light Shabbat Candles at
:
5:47 PM
   
Shabbat, Torah Reading: Ki Tavo
Friday, September 23, 2016
Elul 20, 5776
Light Candles at:

6:31 PM
Saturday, October 22, 2016
Tishrei 20, 5777
Shabbat Ends
:
6:44 PM

 
Saturday, September 24, 2016
Elul 21, 5776
Shabbat Ends
:
7:28 PM
Shemini Atzeret
Sunday, October 23, 2016
Eve of Shemini Atzeret
Tishrei 21, 5777
Light Holiday Candles at:

5:44 PM
   
Shabbat, Torah Reading: Nitzavim
Friday, September 30, 2016
Elul 27, 5776
Light Candles at
:
6:19 PM
Monday, October 24, 2016
Eve of Simchat Torah
Tishrei 22, 5777
Light Holiday Candles after
:
6:42 PM

 
Saturday, October 1, 2016
Elul 28, 5776
Shabbat Ends
:
7:16 PM
Tuesday, October 25, 2016
Tishrei 23, 5777
Holiday Ends
:
6:41 PM
 
Rosh Hashanah
Sunday, October 2, 2016
Eve of First day Rosh Hashanah
Elul 29, 5776
Light Holiday Candles at:

6:16 PM

Shabbat, Torah Reading: Bereishit
Friday, October 28, 2016
Tishrei 26, 5777
Light Candles at:

5:37 PM

 
Monday, October 3, 2016
Eve of Second day Rosh Hashanah
Tishrei 1, 5777
Light Holiday Candles after
:
7:13 PM
Saturday, October 29, 2016
Tishrei 27, 5777
Shabbat Ends
:
6:36 PM
   
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Tishrei 2, 5777
Holiday Ends:

7:11 PM

Shabbat, Torah Reading: Noach
Friday, November 4, 2016
Cheshvan 3, 5777
Light Candles at:

5:29 PM
   
Shabbat, Torah Reading: Vayelech
Friday, October 7, 2016
Tishrei 5, 5777
Light Candles at
:
6:08 PM
Saturday, November 5, 2016
Cheshvan 4, 5777
Shabbat Ends:

6:28 PM

 
Saturday, October 8, 2016
Tishrei 6, 5777
Shabbat Ends:

7:05 PM

Shabbat, Torah Reading: Lech-Lecha
Friday, November 11, 2016
Cheshvan 10, 5777
Light Candles at:

4:22 PM
   
Yom Kippur
Tuesday, October 11, 2016
Eve of Yom Kippur
Tishrei 9, 5777
Light Holiday Candles at
:
6:02 PM
Saturday, November 12, 2016
Cheshvan 11, 5777
Shabbat Ends:

5:22 PM

 
Wednesday, October 12, 2016
Yom Kippur
Tishrei 10, 5777
Holiday Ends:

6:59 PM

Shabbat, Torah Reading: Vayeira
Friday, November 18, 2016
Cheshvan 17, 5777
Light Candles at:

4:16 PM
   
  Saturday, November 19, 2016
Cheshvan 18, 5777
Shabbat Ends
:
5:17 PM
2959 Grand Avenue | Baldwin, NY 11510 | Phone: 516-223-8688 | Fax: 516-223-8689 | Email: sbjcoffice@optonline.net.

© South Baldwin Jewish Center Affiliated with the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism